Visa Wage Index

The University of Virginia

The University of Virginia made 166 filings covering 166 positions in this release. Across them it committed to pay at least a median of $80,642 a year. 166 of those 166 state a minimum and no maximum, which is what an employer is required to file — it is the floor it is bound to, not a salary offered.

Green-card sponsorship

The University of Virginia filed 18 permanent labour certifications between 2025-11-04 and 2026-06-16, of which 16 were certified. That is the step an employment-based green card starts with, so this employer does sponsor them.

What it filed, by role and place

OccupationWhereLevelWage yearFilings PositionsMedianPrevailing
Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 29 29 $67,000 $58,344
Computer Science Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 5 5 $166,700 $93,420
Engineering Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 5 5 $65,000 $63,390
Chemistry Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 4 4 $57,750 $56,470
Health Specialties Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 4 4 $100,000 $91,340
Mathematical Science Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 3 3 $82,200 $67,400
Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists Charlottesville, VA Level IV 2025-26 3 3 $129,900 $102,794
Radiologists Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 3 3 $79,900 $68,266
Biochemists and Biophysicists Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 2 2 $67,550 $64,563
Bioinformatics Scientists Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 2 2 $83,367 $69,701
Biological Science Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 2 2 $68,300 $51,910
Biological Scientists, All Other Charlottesville, VA Level III 2025-26 2 2 $80,642 $78,083
Biological Technicians Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 2 2 $55,983 $45,302
Clinical Data Managers Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC Level I 2025-26 2 2 $83,029 $47,486
Economics Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 2 2 $152,425 $125,687
Education Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 2 2 $76,850 $46,100
Environmental Science Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 2 2 $61,000 $48,940
Health Specialties Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 2 2 $91,194 $57,098
Management Analysts Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 2 2 $75,087 $59,758
Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 2 2 $107,500 $73,154
Physicians, All Other Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 2 2 $81,051 $42,952
Statisticians Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 2 2 $73,700 $37,066
Anesthesiologists Charlottesville, VA Level IV 2025-26 1 1 $350,002 $316,410
Anthropology and Archeology Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 1 1 $91,647 $91,647
Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 1 1 $86,000 $64,153
Atmospheric, Earth, Marine, and Space Sciences Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 1 1 $103,700 $90,860
Biochemists and Biophysicists Charlottesville, VA Level III 2025-26 1 1 $102,800 $98,530
Bioengineers and Biomedical Engineers Charlottesville, VA Level IV 2025-26 1 1 $138,000 $102,315
Bioinformatics Technicians Charlottesville, VA Level III 2025-26 1 1 $81,159 $80,662
Biological Science Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 1 1 $140,000 $73,470
Biological Scientists, All Other Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 1 1 $79,789 $61,298
Biological Scientists, All Other Charlottesville, VA Level IV 2025-26 1 1 $167,600 $86,486
Business Intelligence Analysts New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ Level III 2025-26 1 1 $121,661 $90,272
Business Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 1 1 $77,300 $50,960
Business Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 1 1 $100,006 $90,626
Business Teachers, Postsecondary Southwest Virginia nonmetropolitan area Level III 2025-26 1 1 $151,600 $123,637
Chemists Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 1 1 $57,400 $55,869
Clinical Research Coordinators Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 1 1 $81,435 $79,082
Coaches and Scouts Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 1 1 $90,000 $54,667
Computer Occupations, All Other Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 1 1 $57,000 $53,227
Computer Programmers, Non R&D Charlottesville, VA Level III 2025-26 1 1 $113,792 $98,592
Computer Science Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 1 1 $65,000 $60,250
Data Scientists Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 1 1 $115,000 $88,899
Data Scientists Charlottesville, VA Level III 2025-26 1 1 $122,500 $106,704
Database Administrators Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, TX Level II 2025-26 1 1 $110,000 $78,000
Economics Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 1 1 $170,000 $87,360
Educational Instruction and Library Workers, All Other Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 1 1 $92,253 $45,968
Environmental Science Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 1 1 $107,400 $81,080
Foreign Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 1 1 $52,500 $49,600
Foreign Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 1 1 $84,000 $64,150
General Internal Medicine Physicians Staunton-Stuarts Draft, VA Level I 2025-26 1 1 $100,000 $66,685
Health Specialties Teachers, Postsecondary Lynchburg, VA Level II 2025-26 1 1 $100,000 $91,503
Industrial Engineers Charlottesville, VA Level III 2025-26 1 1 $100,506 $100,506
Information Technology Project Managers Charlottesville, VA Level III 2025-26 1 1 $117,100 $92,893
Life Scientists, All Other Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 1 1 $57,100 $49,483
Management Analysts Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 1 1 $85,000 $67,974
Mathematical Science Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 1 1 $125,000 $45,980
Mathematical Science Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level III 2025-26 1 1 $108,300 $88,820
Mathematical Science Teachers, Postsecondary Southwest Virginia nonmetropolitan area Level II 2025-26 1 1 $69,000 $60,473
Mechanical Engineers, NonR&D Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 1 1 $66,000 $61,901
Mechanical Engineers, R&D Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 1 1 $75,000 $57,117
Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists Charlottesville, VA Level III 2025-26 1 1 $88,000 $87,984
Medical and Health Services Managers Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 1 1 $151,500 $125,819
Pharmacists Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 1 1 $133,889 $80,038
Pharmacists Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 1 1 $141,086 $106,954
Physical Therapists Charlottesville, VA Level III 2025-26 1 1 $131,292 $113,194
Physicians, Pathologists Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 1 1 $74,025 $69,264
Physicists Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 1 1 $85,000 $67,018
Social Science Research Assistants Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 1 1 $62,011 $45,261
Social Scientists and Related Workers, All Other Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 1 1 $61,008 $58,032
Sociology Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 1 1 $74,000 $63,950
Software Developers, Non R&D Charlottesville, VA Level I 2025-26 1 1 $92,700 $78,291
Software Developers, Non R&D Charlottesville, VA Level II 2025-26 1 1 $116,699 $89,773
Electrical Engineers, R&D Charlottesville, VA Level I 2024-25 1 1 $70,000 $56,597
Mathematical Science Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level II 2024-25 1 1 $69,500 $63,463
Mechanical Engineers, R&D Charlottesville, VA Level I 2024-25 1 1 $67,887 $53,206
Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists Charlottesville, VA Level I 2024-25 1 1 $74,200 $59,134
Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists Charlottesville, VA Level I 2023-24 4 4 $63,500 $49,858
Biochemists and Biophysicists Charlottesville, VA Level I 2023-24 1 1 $60,000 $47,507
Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists Charlottesville, VA Level II 2023-24 1 1 $69,000 $57,283
Physicists Charlottesville, VA Level I 2023-24 1 1 $68,208 $57,949
Computer Science Teachers, Postsecondary Southwest Virginia nonmetropolitan area Level I 2022-23 1 1 $75,000 $46,670
Education Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level I 2022-23 1 1 $52,000 $42,730
Life, Physical, and Social Science Technicians, All Other Charlottesville, VA Level III 2022-23 1 1 $75,000 $47,902
Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists Charlottesville, VA Level I 2022-23 1 1 $65,000 $48,318
Software Developers, Non R&D Charlottesville, VA Level II 2022-23 1 1 $108,368 $83,824
Physicians, Pathologists Charlottesville, VA Level not stated 2 2 $65,119 $63,373
Aerospace Engineers Charlottesville, VA Level not stated 1 1 $62,607 $62,607
Bioengineers and Biomedical Engineers Charlottesville, VA Level not stated 1 1 $82,400 $82,160
Cardiologists Charlottesville, VA Level not stated 1 1 $71,205 $68,724
Chemists Charlottesville, VA Level not stated 1 1 $65,000 $62,607
Civil Engineers, R&D Charlottesville, VA Level not stated 1 1 $65,000 $49,663
Electrical Engineers, R&D Charlottesville, VA Level not stated 1 1 $60,000 $52,288
Emergency Medicine Physicians Charlottesville, VA Level not stated 1 1 $64,032 $61,867
Materials Engineers Charlottesville, VA Level not stated 1 1 $67,000 $62,607
Mathematicians Charlottesville, VA Level not stated 1 1 $53,000 $49,769
Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists Charlottesville, VA Level not stated 1 1 $64,700 $62,607
Psychologists, All Other Charlottesville, VA Level not stated 1 1 $70,000 $62,607
Psychology Teachers, Postsecondary Charlottesville, VA Level not stated 1 1 $56,500 $42,020
Surgeons, All Other Charlottesville, VA Level not stated 1 1 $65,955 $64,208

A wage is shown against the prevailing wage for the library year the filing itself cites, not the year current today — measured against the wrong year, a correctly-filed wage reads as underpaid.

Tell me when this employer files again

One email when The University of Virginia appears in a new quarterly release, or files a permanent labour certification — which is the signal that it sponsors green cards.

Double opt-in. One email per change, unsubscribe in one click. No newsletter. Privacy policy.

Source: Office of Foreign Labor Certification disclosure data, US Department of Labor (public domain), and the OFLC prevailing wage library. Figures are what employers filed, not what they paid.