Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University made 171 filings covering 171 positions in this release. Across them it committed to pay at least a median of $77,106 a year. 169 of those 171 state a minimum and no maximum, which is what an employer is required to file — it is the floor it is bound to, not a salary offered.
Green-card sponsorship
Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University filed 15 permanent labour certifications between 2026-02-27 and 2026-06-17, of which 11 were certified. That is the step an employment-based green card starts with, so this employer does sponsor them.
What it filed, by role and place
| Occupation | Where | Level | Wage year | Filings | Positions | Median | Prevailing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Engineering Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 9 | 9 | $109,167 | $77,330 |
| Communications Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 5 | 5 | $75,000 | $52,580 |
| Mathematical Science Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 5 | 5 | $58,121 | $44,349 |
| Computer Science Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 4 | 4 | $114,000 | $74,720 |
| Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2025-26 | 3 | 3 | $75,000 | $67,121 |
| Business Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 3 | 3 | $230,000 | $53,860 |
| Economics Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 3 | 3 | $124,000 | $69,120 |
| Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists | Roanoke, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 3 | 3 | $61,568 | $61,568 |
| Veterinarians | Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV | Level I | 2025-26 | 3 | 3 | $61,000 | $44,242 |
| Biological Science Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 2 | 2 | $95,294 | $51,560 |
| Biostatisticians | Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV | Level II | 2025-26 | 2 | 2 | $123,600 | $79,934 |
| Financial Risk Specialists | Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV | Level III | 2025-26 | 2 | 2 | $93,473 | $87,568 |
| Health Specialties Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level III | 2025-26 | 2 | 2 | $141,093 | $96,913 |
| Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 2 | 2 | $81,252 | $62,504 |
| Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists | Roanoke, VA | Level II | 2025-26 | 2 | 2 | $144,200 | $78,291 |
| Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists | Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV | Level I | 2025-26 | 2 | 2 | $87,180 | $69,971 |
| Agricultural Sciences Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $100,684 | $87,787 |
| Architecture Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $88,755 | $75,100 |
| Automotive Engineers | Southside Virginia nonmetropolitan area | Level II | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $84,884 | $76,190 |
| Automotive Engineers | Southside Virginia nonmetropolitan area | Level III | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $110,376 | $95,285 |
| Automotive Engineers | Southside Virginia nonmetropolitan area | Level IV | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $114,704 | $114,358 |
| Biochemists and Biophysicists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $75,000 | $64,563 |
| Bioinformatics Scientists | Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV | Level III | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $120,000 | $73,861 |
| Business Intelligence Analysts | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $73,743 | $73,590 |
| Business Teachers, Postsecondary | Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV | Level II | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $373,029 | $96,537 |
| Compliance Officers | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $91,000 | $53,872 |
| Computer Hardware Engineers, R&D | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level III | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $94,673 | $93,288 |
| Computer Network Architects, Non R&D | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $99,022 | $91,437 |
| Computer Systems Analysts | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level IV | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $106,090 | $100,610 |
| Computer Systems Engineers/Architects | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level III | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $109,609 | $92,893 |
| Computer Systems Engineers/Architects | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level IV | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $117,156 | $112,715 |
| Database Architects | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level III | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $115,915 | $115,482 |
| Economics Teachers, Postsecondary | Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV | Level I | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $83,480 | $83,480 |
| Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $45,500 | $45,157 |
| Electrical Engineers | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level III | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $95,000 | $79,518 |
| Electrical Engineers, R&D | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level III | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $108,231 | $79,518 |
| English Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $54,707 | $53,650 |
| Geography Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $84,968 | $62,858 |
| Health Specialties Teachers, Postsecondary | Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV | Level II | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $150,000 | $103,930 |
| Human Resources Specialists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $53,219 | $52,229 |
| Mathematicians | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $62,000 | $45,864 |
| Microsystems Engineers | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $90,702 | $71,781 |
| Nanosystems Engineers | Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk, VA-NC | Level I | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $89,821 | $71,781 |
| Network and Computer Systems Administrators | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $83,000 | $71,760 |
| Network and Computer Systems Administrators | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level IV | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $114,605 | $90,251 |
| Operations Research Analysts | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $66,983 | $61,277 |
| Operations Research Analysts | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $78,062 | $73,341 |
| Physicists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $67,018 | $67,018 |
| Postsecondary Teachers, All Other | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $88,900 | $52,960 |
| Social Science Research Assistants | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $60,000 | $45,594 |
| Social Science Research Assistants | Roanoke, VA | Level I | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $47,855 | $38,210 |
| Software Developers, Non R&D | Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, TX | Level II | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $105,579 | $87,006 |
| Statisticians | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $107,997 | $55,307 |
| Survey Researchers | Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV | Level II | 2025-26 | 1 | 1 | $65,000 | $52,811 |
| Architecture Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2024-25 | 2 | 2 | $88,752 | $67,600 |
| Engineering Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2024-25 | 2 | 2 | $111,543 | $69,230 |
| Agricultural Engineers | Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk, VA-NC | Level IV | 2024-25 | 1 | 1 | $101,540 | $96,075 |
| Biological Technicians | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2024-25 | 1 | 1 | $52,000 | $42,723 |
| Computer Science Teachers, Postsecondary | Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV | Level II | 2024-25 | 1 | 1 | $270,300 | $86,190 |
| Data Scientists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2024-25 | 1 | 1 | $97,045 | $87,277 |
| Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2024-25 | 1 | 1 | $52,079 | $42,162 |
| Electrical Engineers | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level III | 2024-25 | 1 | 1 | $77,106 | $77,106 |
| Family and Consumer Sciences Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2024-25 | 1 | 1 | $77,705 | $47,700 |
| Librarians and Media Collections Specialists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2024-25 | 1 | 1 | $59,000 | $48,173 |
| Mathematicians | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2024-25 | 1 | 1 | $63,036 | $42,640 |
| Operations Research Analysts | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2024-25 | 1 | 1 | $75,643 | $63,357 |
| Physicists | Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN | Level I | 2024-25 | 1 | 1 | $72,000 | $47,258 |
| Aerospace Engineers | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2023-24 | 1 | 1 | $71,093 | $69,389 |
| Agricultural Sciences Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2023-24 | 1 | 1 | $87,000 | $73,187 |
| Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2023-24 | 1 | 1 | $69,007 | $46,560 |
| Chemistry Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2023-24 | 1 | 1 | $57,000 | $55,890 |
| Chemists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level III | 2023-24 | 1 | 1 | $75,000 | $67,933 |
| Computer Science Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2023-24 | 1 | 1 | $133,812 | $74,210 |
| Engineering Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2023-24 | 1 | 1 | $110,000 | $91,867 |
| Environmental Economists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2023-24 | 1 | 1 | $92,000 | $56,493 |
| Food Scientists and Technologists | Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk, VA-NC | Level III | 2023-24 | 1 | 1 | $61,000 | $60,923 |
| Geography Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2023-24 | 1 | 1 | $91,895 | $68,280 |
| Health Specialties Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level III | 2023-24 | 1 | 1 | $157,016 | $101,917 |
| History Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2023-24 | 1 | 1 | $58,000 | $57,670 |
| Mathematicians | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2023-24 | 1 | 1 | $65,000 | $39,645 |
| Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2023-24 | 1 | 1 | $59,900 | $58,282 |
| Physicists | Boulder, CO | Level I | 2023-24 | 1 | 1 | $84,800 | $57,949 |
| Social Science Research Assistants | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2023-24 | 1 | 1 | $52,000 | $41,662 |
| Zoologists and Wildlife Biologists | Greenville-Anderson-Greer, SC | Level I | 2023-24 | 1 | 1 | $54,480 | $46,613 |
| Biological Science Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2022-23 | 1 | 1 | $88,840 | $54,180 |
| Computer and Information Research Scientists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2022-23 | 1 | 1 | $80,000 | $79,934 |
| Engineering Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2022-23 | 1 | 1 | $96,000 | $65,110 |
| Geographic Information Systems Technologists and Technicians | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2022-23 | 1 | 1 | $56,000 | $46,509 |
| Mathematical Science Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2022-23 | 1 | 1 | $49,420 | $49,420 |
| Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists | Roanoke, VA | Level I | 2022-23 | 1 | 1 | $63,000 | $48,318 |
| Physics Teachers, Postsecondary | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2022-23 | 1 | 1 | $94,500 | $67,190 |
| Robotics Engineers | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level II | 2022-23 | 1 | 1 | $80,558 | $80,558 |
| Soil and Plant Scientists | Winchester, VA-WV | Level III | 2022-23 | 1 | 1 | $95,250 | $60,029 |
| Civil Engineers, R&D | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level I | 2021-22 | 1 | 1 | $48,000 | $33,259 |
| Chemists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 4 | 4 | $74,854 | $70,360 |
| Materials Scientists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 4 | 4 | $74,416 | $74,761 |
| Computer and Information Research Scientists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 3 | 3 | $68,053 | $62,617 |
| Mechanical Engineers | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 3 | 3 | $74,735 | $68,615 |
| Data Scientists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 2 | 2 | $75,115 | $74,660 |
| Materials Engineers | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 2 | 2 | $72,091 | $68,700 |
| Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists | Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV | Level not stated | — | 2 | 2 | $74,360 | $68,053 |
| Molecular and Cellular Biologists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 2 | 2 | $71,622 | $71,622 |
| Aerospace Engineers | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 1 | 1 | $68,053 | $68,053 |
| Architectural and Engineering Managers | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 1 | 1 | $143,311 | $108,630 |
| Atmospheric and Space Scientists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 1 | 1 | $68,053 | $62,607 |
| Biochemists and Biophysicists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 1 | 1 | $62,607 | $62,607 |
| Bioengineers and Biomedical Engineers | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 1 | 1 | $58,500 | $48,737 |
| Chemical Engineers | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 1 | 1 | $61,008 | $45,175 |
| Civil Engineers | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 1 | 1 | $68,053 | $62,607 |
| Computer Hardware Engineers, R&D | Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV | Level not stated | — | 1 | 1 | $75,000 | $72,915 |
| Computer Systems Analysts, R&D | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 1 | 1 | $87,975 | $68,053 |
| Dietitians and Nutritionists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 1 | 1 | $58,084 | $51,115 |
| Electrical Engineers | Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV | Level not stated | — | 1 | 1 | $70,000 | $68,053 |
| Hydrologists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 1 | 1 | $68,053 | $62,607 |
| Meeting, Convention, and Event Planners | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 1 | 1 | $62,100 | $62,100 |
| Microsystems Engineers | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 1 | 1 | $68,053 | $68,053 |
| Physicists | Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA | Level not stated | — | 1 | 1 | $63,000 | $62,607 |
| Soil and Plant Scientists | Northeast Virginia nonmetropolitan area | Level not stated | — | 1 | 1 | $62,607 | $62,607 |
| Soil and Plant Scientists | Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk, VA-NC | Level not stated | — | 1 | 1 | $63,000 | $55,446 |
A wage is shown against the prevailing wage for the library year the filing itself cites, not the year current today — measured against the wrong year, a correctly-filed wage reads as underpaid.
Where these workers are placed
Filings that name a secondary entity — a client site the worker works at rather than the employer's own premises.
- Norfolk State University 1
- Fermi Research Alliance, LLC 1
Tell me when this employer files again
One email when Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University appears in a new quarterly release, or files a permanent labour certification — which is the signal that it sponsors green cards.
Source: Office of Foreign Labor Certification disclosure data, US Department of Labor (public domain), and the OFLC prevailing wage library. Figures are what employers filed, not what they paid.