Visa Wage Index

Materials Scientists in Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN

Employers filed 41 applications covering 41 positions for this role here, at a median of $95,000 a year. 31 of those state a minimum and no maximum — a Labor Condition Application commits an employer to a floor, not to a salary.

What the government requires here

The prevailing wage for Materials Scientists in Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN, wage year 2025-26 — the four levels an employer must meet depending on the experience the role demands.

LevelWho it is forA year
Level IEntry: a role needing basic understanding and close supervision$86,528
Level IIQualified: some experience, moderate supervision$106,371
Level IIIExperienced: sound understanding, limited supervision$126,194
Level IVFully competent: judgement, may supervise others$146,037

Who filed, and at what

EmployerLevelFilingsPositionsMedian
Northwestern University Level I 1414 $61,254
Northwestern University Level III 66 $83,366
Underwriters Laboratories Inc. Level II 33 $106,500
AbbVie Inc. Level III 11 $132,275
Entegris, Inc. Level III 11 $136,904
INEOS Styrolution America LLC Level III 11 $126,194
Silgan White Cap LLC. Level I 11 $95,000
UChicago Argonne, LLC Level I 11 $70,758
UChicago Argonne, LLC Level II 11 $90,043
UChicago Argonne, LLC Level IV 11 $116,250
University of Chicago Level I 11 $63,120
University of Illinois Chicago Level II 11 $67,558
Northwestern University Level III 11 $89,898
UChicago Argonne LLC Level III 11 $109,922
Fermi Research Alliance, LLC Level I 22 $66,703
UChicago Argonne LLC Level II 11 $72,488
TA Instruments - Waters LLC not stated 22 $98,000
ArcelorMittal USA Research LLC not stated 11 $120,450
USG Corporation not stated 11 $124,704

Tell me when this moves

One email when the prevailing wage for Materials Scientists in Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN changes — the library turns over every July, and what an employer must offer changes with it.

Double opt-in. One email per change, unsubscribe in one click. No newsletter. Privacy policy.

Source: OFLC disclosure data and prevailing wage library, US Department of Labor (public domain). Figures are what employers filed, not what they paid.