Visa Wage Index

Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists in San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA

Employers filed 131 applications covering 150 positions for this role here, at a median of $148,689 a year. 74 of those state a minimum and no maximum — a Labor Condition Application commits an employer to a floor, not to a salary.

What the government requires here

The prevailing wage for Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists in San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA, wage year 2025-26 — the four levels an employer must meet depending on the experience the role demands.

LevelWho it is forA year
Level IEntry: a role needing basic understanding and close supervision$101,858
Level IIQualified: some experience, moderate supervision$125,278
Level IIIExperienced: sound understanding, limited supervision$148,678
Level IVFully competent: judgement, may supervise others$172,099

Who filed, and at what

EmployerLevelFilingsPositionsMedian
Genentech, Inc. Level II 1029 $127,544
Genentech, Inc. Level III 55 $148,678
Genentech, Inc. Level I 44 $103,400
Gilead Sciences, Inc. Level II 44 $159,360
Gilead Sciences, Inc. Level IV 44 $184,160
Buck Institute for Research on Aging Level III 33 $114,130
Buck Institute for Research on Aging Level IV 22 $131,019
Exelixis, Inc. Level II 22 $149,662
Genentech, Inc. Level IV 22 $222,400
Neuralink Corp. Level III 22 $163,316
Science Corporation Level II 22 $148,689
Synthego Holdings LLC Level II 22 $146,000
UNLEARN.AI, INC. Level III 22 $148,720
Washington Township Healthcare District Level IV 22 $208,166
AbbVie Inc. Level I 11 $109,765
AbbVie Inc. Level III 11 $150,000
AbbVie Biotherapeutics Inc. Level III 11 $164,147
ABBVIE BIOTHERAPEUTICS INC. Level IV 11 $181,000
Amgen Inc. Level I 11 $142,900
Amgen Inc. Level III 11 $211,114
Amgen Inc. Level IV 11 $211,114
Animate Biosciences, Inc. Level II 11 $126,942
Arcus Biosciences, Inc. Level II 11 $147,000
Arcus Biosciences, Inc. Level IV 11 $178,200
Ardelyx, Inc. Level II 11 $125,278
BeOne Medicines USA, Inc. Level IV 11 $349,368
BioCheck, Inc. Level I 11 $120,000
Blueprint Medicines Corporation Level IV 11 $208,822
Buck Institute for Research on Aging Level I 11 $80,350
Cerus Corporation Level III 11 $148,678
Coherence Neuro Global, Inc. Level II 11 $125,278
Conception Biosciences, Inc. Level II 11 $140,000
Coopervision, Inc. Level I 11 $101,858
Dren Bio Management, Inc. Level II 11 $155,000
Eli Lilly and Company Level IV 11 $216,480
Epia Neuro, Inc. Level II 11 $196,500
ETEAM INC. Level I 11 $107,973
Eureka Therapeutics, Inc. Level II 11 $130,000
Exelixis, Inc. Level IV 11 $216,000
Generate Biomedicines, Inc. Level I 11 $101,858
Gilead Sciences, Inc. Level I 11 $119,360
Gilead Sciences, Inc. Level III 11 $159,360
Horizon Therapeutics USA, Inc. Level I 11 $150,075
Horizon Therapeutics USA, Inc. Level IV 11 $173,745
Immuneering Corporation Level III 11 $250,000
Janssen Research & Development, LLC Level IV 11 $172,099
Kardigan, Inc. Level III 11 $150,000
Kite Pharma Inc. Level I 11 $119,360
Kite Pharma Inc. Level II 11 $125,278
Muse Bio, Inc. Level IV 11 $172,099
Neurona Therapeutics, Inc. Level III 11 $150,000
Northern California Institute for Research and Education Level II 11 $97,240
Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research, Inc. Level II 11 $125,278
Nudge Workbench OpCo, LLC Level I 11 $101,858
Retro Biosciences, Inc. Level II 11 $177,465
Seer, Inc. Level II 11 $125,278
SIMULATIONS PLUS, INC. Level III 11 $190,000
Sutro Biopharma, Inc. Level III 11 $162,137
University of California, San Francisco Level II 11 $148,900
Arsenal Biosciences, Inc. Level III 11 $140,462
Genentech, Inc. Level I 11 $99,715
University of California, San Francisco not stated 3131 $93,200
University of California, Berkeley not stated 77 $89,000

Tell me when this moves

One email when the prevailing wage for Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists in San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA changes — the library turns over every July, and what an employer must offer changes with it.

Double opt-in. One email per change, unsubscribe in one click. No newsletter. Privacy policy.

Source: OFLC disclosure data and prevailing wage library, US Department of Labor (public domain). Figures are what employers filed, not what they paid.