Foreign Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary in New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ
Employers filed 18 applications covering 18 positions for this role here, at a median of $87,204 a year. 12 of those state a minimum and no maximum — a Labor Condition Application commits an employer to a floor, not to a salary.
What the government requires here
The prevailing wage for Foreign Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary in New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ, wage year 2025-26 — the four levels an employer must meet depending on the experience the role demands.
| Level | Who it is for | A year |
|---|---|---|
| Level I | Entry: a role needing basic understanding and close supervision | $58,980 |
| Level II | Qualified: some experience, moderate supervision | $85,473 |
| Level III | Experienced: sound understanding, limited supervision | $111,967 |
| Level IV | Fully competent: judgement, may supervise others | $138,460 |
Who filed, and at what
| Employer | Level | Filings | Positions | Median |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Columbia University | Level I | 7 | 7 | $81,800 |
| New York University | Level II | 2 | 2 | $106,300 |
| Bard College | Level II | 1 | 1 | $85,473 |
| Fordham University | Level I | 1 | 1 | $71,751 |
| New York University | Level I | 1 | 1 | $91,145 |
| Baruch College | not stated | 1 | 1 | $98,995 |
| Hunter College of the City University of New York | not stated | 1 | 1 | $98,995 |
| John Jay College of Criminal Justice, CUNY | not stated | 1 | 1 | $97,487 |
| Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey | not stated | 1 | 1 | $87,204 |
| State University of New York at Stony Brook | not stated | 1 | 1 | $60,000 |
| State University of New York - Purchase College | not stated | 1 | 1 | $63,654 |
Tell me when this moves
One email when the prevailing wage for Foreign Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary in New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ changes — the library turns over every July, and what an employer must offer changes with it.
Source: OFLC disclosure data and prevailing wage library, US Department of Labor (public domain). Figures are what employers filed, not what they paid.