Visa Wage Index

Biochemists and Biophysicists in New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ

Employers filed 186 applications covering 328 positions for this role here, at a median of $90,000 a year. 155 of those state a minimum and no maximum — a Labor Condition Application commits an employer to a floor, not to a salary.

What the government requires here

The prevailing wage for Biochemists and Biophysicists in New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ, wage year 2025-26 — the four levels an employer must meet depending on the experience the role demands.

LevelWho it is forA year
Level IEntry: a role needing basic understanding and close supervision$74,963
Level IIQualified: some experience, moderate supervision$89,419
Level IIIExperienced: sound understanding, limited supervision$103,854
Level IVFully competent: judgement, may supervise others$118,310

Who filed, and at what

EmployerLevelFilingsPositionsMedian
Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Level II 47171 $142,233
Albert Einstein College of Medicine Level I 1010 $75,750
Albert Einstein College of Medicine Level II 1010 $75,730
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC Level II 77 $117,000
New York University Level I 77 $66,305
Weill Cornell Medical College Level II 716 $86,137
Weill Cornell Medical College Level I 615 $80,596
Research Foundation for the State University of New York Level I 55 $59,000
Brookhaven National Laboratory Level II 44 $75,678
NYU Grossman School of Medicine Level I 44 $71,263
Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Level I 44 $100,193
Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Level IV 33 $159,963
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Level II 22 $83,921
The Jackson Laboratory Level I 22 $65,589
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC Level III 22 $149,200
Research Foundation for the State University of New York Level II 22 $70,149
The Rockefeller University Level II 22 $75,896
WuXi Biologics USA, LLC Level II 22 $113,734
WuXi Biologics USA, LLC Level IV 22 $151,171
Albert Einstein College of Medicine Level III 11 $80,000
Bristol-Myers Squibb Company Level II 11 $98,664
CD Biosciences Inc. Level IV 11 $118,310
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Level I 11 $74,300
Columbia University Level II 11 $79,309
Creative Biogene Inc. Level IV 11 $118,310
Croda Inc. Level I 11 $105,000
ELC Beauty LLC Level IV 11 $126,250
GenScript USA Inc. Level I 11 $117,500
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Level III 11 $94,090
Humane Genomics Inc. Level IV 11 $150,000
Ivory Systems, Inc. Level I 11 $87,214
Legend Biotech USA, Inc. Level III 11 $172,000
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Level II 11 $230,000
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC Level I 11 $114,700
Neion Bio Inc. Level II 11 $165,000
New York University Level II 11 $76,055
Nouryon Surface Chemistry LLC Level III 11 $157,000
NOVARTIS PHARMACEUTICALS CORPORATION Level II 11 $89,419
NYU Grossman School of Medicine Level II 11 $85,000
Pacagen, Inc. Level IV 11 $120,000
PFIZER INC. Level II 11 $101,416
PFIZER INC. Level IV 11 $125,504
Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Level III 11 $183,257
Research Foundation of CUNY Level I 11 $76,000
Synbio Technologies LLC Level I 11 $80,000
Twist Bioscience Corporation Level II 11 $115,000
XenoBiotic Laboratories, Inc., a div. of WuXi Level II 11 $90,000
Albert Einstein College of Medicine Level II 11 $71,000
The Rockefeller University Level I 11 $74,263
Schrodinger, Inc. Level II 11 $132,600
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC Level I 22 $80,246
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Level III 11 $100,000
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC Level II 11 $111,400
Albert Einstein College of Medicine Level I 11 $77,000
Albert Einstein College of Medicine not stated 1515 $70,000
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey not stated 44 $82,304
Weill Cornell Medical College not stated 22 $80,313
Columbia University not stated 11 $83,945

Tell me when this moves

One email when the prevailing wage for Biochemists and Biophysicists in New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ changes — the library turns over every July, and what an employer must offer changes with it.

Double opt-in. One email per change, unsubscribe in one click. No newsletter. Privacy policy.

Source: OFLC disclosure data and prevailing wage library, US Department of Labor (public domain). Figures are what employers filed, not what they paid.